People

Center for Writing

Alexis Almeida

Writing Associate

Danny Braun

Writing Associate

Anne Brink

Writing Associate

William Camponovo

Writing Associate

Stephen Higa

Writing Associate

Yu-Yun Hsieh

Writing Associate

Alice Jones-Nelson

Writing Associate

Karen Lepri

Writing Associate

John Lundberg

Associate Director, Center for Writing
212.353.4280 | lundberg@cooper.edu

Christine Malvasi

Writing Associate
cmalvasi@cooper.edu

Kate McIntyre

Writing Associate
mcintyre@cooper.edu

Pam Newton

Coordinator of the Writing Fellows Program
212.353.4218 | pamela.newton@cooper.edu

Kit Nicholls

Director of the Center for Writing
212.353.4399 | nicholls@cooper.edu

Phil Polefrone

Writing Associate
polefrone@cooper.edu

Liza St. James

Writing Associate
Liza.StJames@cooper.edu

Kent Szlauderbach

Writing Associate
szlauder@cooper.edu

Augusta X. Thomson

Writing Associate
augusta.thomson@cooper.edu

Neena Verma

Writing Associate
neena.verma@cooper.edu

Buck Wanner

Writing Associate
buck.wanner@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.